9 books to get down with from the land down under

No, this isn’t a post about Chris Hemsworth (unfortunately), but it is about our second favorite thing: books! When stories have the ability to take you anywhere, you might not be thinking of who the author of your new favorite book is. However, in the past few years Australian authors have been making quite the splash stateside, and now is there perfect time to catch up on some great reads written by Aussies! One of our favorites, Relativity by Antonia Hayes, is now available in a new paperback package from Gallery Books!

the-great-zoo-of-china-9781476749587_hr

Great Zoo of China by Matthew Reilly

Transport yourself to a parallel universe with Matthew Reilly’s Great Zoo of China. The novel chronicles a series of misadventures that occur after China discovers the existence of dragons and creates a one-of-a-kind zoo for the whole world to see. Prepare yourself for heart-pumping thrills as National Geographic writer Dr. Cassandra Jane Cameron arrives at the zoo for a top-secret preview weekend, only to watch the trip quickly go awry.

relativity-9781501105081_hr

Relativity by Antonia Hayes

What happens when a gifted and sheltered 12-year-old boy starts to question who his birth father is? In Antonia Hayes’s devastating debut novel Relativity, Ethan Forsythe’s life changes forever after he falls ill and intercepts a letter from his estranged birth father. Dealing with her son’s attempts to reunite the family, as well as the jeopardy his life now faces, Ethan’s mother Claire now faces one of the greatest challenges: how to proceed. Warning: tissues will be needed.

golden-earrings-9781476790336_hr

Golden Earrings by Belinda Alexandra

Watch a historical drama unfold in the beautiful, ancient landscapes of Barcelona and Paris with Belinda Alexandra’s novel Golden Earrings. The granddaughter of Spanish refugees, Paloma Bratton doesn’t let anything get in the way of her goal to become a ballerina.  However, after Paloma receives a mysterious pair of gold earrings, her attention shifts to her Spanish heritage and a specific fascination with the once world famous flamenco dancer la Rusa, who has more of a connection to Paloma than she could ever realize.

the-lake-house-9781451649352_hr

The Lake House by Kate Morton

Alice Edevane lives the perfect, idyllic life as a 16-year-old girl at her family’s lakeside estate in Cornwall, England.  But everything changes in one night after her 11-month-old brother goes missing during a party and her perfect family falls apart, changing Alice’s life forever. Fast-forward a few decades and Alice, now a successful author, has learned to come to terms with her brother’s disappearance. Yet, unbeknownst to Alice, a young woman has come across the abandoned lake house and began looking into the night of the disappearance, once again throwing Alice’s life into disorder.

the-rosie-project-9781476729107_hr

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

One of the most popular romantic comedies of our time, The Rosie Project chronicles the adventures of odd college professor Don as he attempts to find true love and live happily ever after. Being the highly scientific man that he is, Don decides to go about finding love in a systematic way, devising the Wife Project: a 16-page survey designed to single out his perfect woman. When Don meets Rosie, who fails in every way to qualify for what he has deemed wife material, and gets drawn into her world, all his plans for finding love soon fall apart in this ultimately heart-warming book.

9780698138636

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

What happens when the little lies we tell on a daily basis blow up in our faces? Find out in Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, which chronicles the journey of three women each stuck at a crossroads of what to do about her life. As mystery, death, and suspense unfold with each passing page, the three women must face just what the repercussions of their little fibs are, winding up with a shocking conclusion guaranteed to have you up all night reading.

9780385352864

The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan

In Richard Flanagan’s Man Booker prize-winning novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North, veteran Dorrigo Evans’s life unfolds in front of the reader, moving from a Japanese POW camp to present-day Australia, to recount the tale of a man afflicted by wear, death, and ultimately the truth of what he has learned along the way. Intricately constructed and beautifully told, The Narrow Road to the Deep North will leave a lasting impression of what it means to be human.

the-light-between-oceans-9781451681765_hr

The Light Between Oceans by ML Stedman

Set in Janus Rock, an isolated island off the coast of Australia, The Light Between Oceans details the life of lighthouse keeper Tom Sherbourne and his young wife Isabel. After years of living in isolation and repeated failures to conceive a child, Tom and Isabel are taken by surprise when a boat washes up on the island with a dead man and living child inside. Though Tom and Isabel take the child in as their own instead of reporting the accident, they cannot hide from their decisions forever. As the years go by and they eventually return to the mainland, Tom and Isabel come face-to-face with the devastation their decision caused, hauntingly reminding the reader that every action has a consequence.

9780307433848

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

One of the best-selling books of the past decade and recently adapted into a film, The Book Thief may sound familiar to you. But did you know that the author, Markus Zusak, is actually Australian? It might be hard to tell in this heart-wrenching account of a little girl growing up in Nazi Germany during a time of unfathomable death and grief. However, as Liesel Meminger learns to read with the help of her contraband books and the Jewish man hidden away in her basement, the message becomes ever clearer that humanity subsists even when there seems to be none left at all. Leaving the reader with a sense of hope and awareness, it is not hard to understand why this book into one of the most enduring tales of the recent past.

<< read previous read next >>
Great Zoo of China

Great Zoo of China

Matthew Reilly

The action-packed thriller in the blockbuster and bestselling tradition of Jurassic Park, from #1 internationally bestselling author Matthew Reilly!

HEAT METER
Relativity

Relativity

Antonia Hayes

A “beautifully written, heartbreaking” (S. J. Watson) debut novel about a gifted boy who discovers the truth about his past, his overprotective single mother who tries desperately to shield him from it, and the father he has never met who has unexpectedly returned.

HEAT METER
Golden Earrings

Golden Earrings

Belinda Alexandra

For fans of Colleen McCullough, Kate Morton, and Lucinda Riley, a powerful saga of family, love, honor, and betrayal set in historical Barcelona and romantic Paris, from the author of Tuscan Rose.

HEAT METER
Lake House

Lake House

Kate Morton

From the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Secret Keeper and The Distant Hours, an intricately plotted, spellbinding new novel of heartstopping suspense and uncovered secrets.

HEAT METER
Rosie Project

Rosie Project

Graeme Simsion

The art of love is never a science, proven once again in this a delightful reminder that, at the end of the day, we all just want to fit in!

HEAT METER
Big Little Lies

Big Little Lies

Liane Moriarty

Sometimes it’s the little lies that turn out to be the most lethal. . . . A murder… . . . a tragic accident… . . . or just parents behaving badly? What’s indisputable is that someone is dead. But who did what? Big Little Lies follows three women, each at a crossroads...

HEAT METER
The Narrow Road to the Deep North

The Narrow Road to the Deep North

Richard Flanagan

From the author of the acclaimed Gould’s Book of Fish, a magisterial novel of love and war that traces the life of one man from World War II to the present.

HEAT METER
Light Between Oceans

Light Between Oceans

M.L. Stedman

After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day’s journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby’s cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby.

HEAT METER
The Book Thief

The Book Thief

Markus Zusak

One of the most enduring stories of our time, The Book Thief is just a small story really, about, among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist fighter, and quite a lot of thievery.

HEAT METER

MORE FROM AROUND THE WEB

3 comments so far


  1. Definitely need to add some of these to my TBR list today!

  2. Thanks for the awesome book recommendations! I added a few to my to read pile… now I just need to find time “to read” them…

  3. Added several of these to my TBR! Really looking forward to The Light Between Oceans.

Post a comment