Mariah Stewart’s Summer Countdown: The DRIFTWOOD POINT Author’s 5 Faves of the Season

As summer starts to heat up and people are coming out of their homes to soak up the sun, we found ourselves wondering what to do with all the glorious daylight. Thankfully, Mariah Stewart, author of the Chesapeake series, gave us a list of five of what she calls VIT (Very Important Things) to fill those long summer days. Mariah’s new novel, Driftwood Point, is on sale now!

Countdown to Summer 2016

So much to love about summer! So much to look forward to!
So much that I’ve had to make lists to keep it all straight.

Here’s my list of five VIT (Very Important Things) that I cannot miss.

#5Books! Books for the beach, for the pool. Books to read on a porch swing or a hammock, a deck or a patio. Here are my top five must reads for the summer of 2016:

~ 1st – of9781476792606 course! – DRIFTWOOD POINT, my second chance at love story (because everyone deserves a second chance). #10 in the Chesapeake Diaries.

~ 2nd – Jennifer Probst’s EVERYTHING AND EVERY WAY was so crazy delicious that I cannot – CANNOT – wait for that second book in her Billionaire Builders series, ANY TIME AND ANY PLACE (Note to my editor: I am not too proud to beg for an early copy. Just sayin’).

~ 3rd – Linda Castillo’s AMONG THE WICKED – I started reading her Kate Burkholder series with the first book and have read every one since. We live among the Amish, and I can tell you – she gets it right.

~ 4th – Susan Mallery – DAUGHTERS OF THE BRIDE – the title alone is enough to make me want to read this.
~ 5th – Nancy Herkness’s THE ALL STAR ANTES UP – I’ve read several of her contemporary romances and love her style – and I’ve heard this new series is hot stuff!

#4 – Four of my favorite summer foods:blueberry-cheesecake
Blueberries (as in cheesecake), peaches (as in cobbler), watermelon (as in salad – had to get something healthy into the mix!), and since we live in the country, it can’t be summer without fresh sweet corn.

#3- Three songs that make me think of summer:
~Under the Boardwalk – The Drifters

~The Boys of Summer – Don Henley

~Summer Breeze – Seals and Crofts

~And yes I know they’re all old songs – I prefer to think of them as classics.

#2 – Two of my favorite summer destinations:
No mystery here – the beach and the pool in the backyard.

#1 – One favorite TV show:
Game of Thrones – I’m watching all the Season 6 episodes so I’ll be totally caught up when Season 7 begins – and hopefully by then I’ll not have forgotten who lived, who died and came back to life, who stayed dead, who went to war, and who walked naked through the streets of Kings Landing.

So there you have it. What’s on your list of Summer 2016 can’t misses?

 

woman-reading-book-at-beach

<< read previous read next >>
Driftwood Point

Driftwood Point

Mariah Stewart

The 10th addition to Mariah Stewart's beloved Chesapeake Diaries series, DRIFTWOOD POINT is the romantic tale of a man who takes a second chance on love with the high school crush who broke his heart. As environmental engineer Alec Jansen up-and-coming artist Lisbeth Parker fight to win the debate over their island's future, they also fight to win something else: each other.

HEAT METER
That Chesapeake Summer

That Chesapeake Summer

Mariah Stewart

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes the latest book in her celebrated Chesapeake Diaries, a small-town romance series in the tradition of Barbara Freethy, Susan Mallery, and Robyn Carr.

HEAT METER

MORE FROM AROUND THE WEB

Comments are closed.