Hausfrau: The Lives and Deaths of a Book Cover

Ever wondered how an art team manages to take something as complex and multifaceted as a book and find just one static image that can represent it for the cover? Well you should, because at times it can be mind-blowing. Take the cover Random House did for Jill Alexander Essbaum’s recent hit, Hausfrau–this video shows the many, many stages it went through until it became the beautiful image we all now know and love.

 

A fun ride, no?

Have you ever read a book and started dreaming about what else the cover could have been for it?

 

<< read previous read next >>
Hausfrau

Hausfrau

Jill Alexander Essbaum

Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train and The Woman Upstairs comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning—“a modern-day Anna Karenina tale.”

HEAT METER
Her: A Memoir

Her: A Memoir

Christa Parravani

A passionate memoir of identity and love: when a charismatic and troubled young woman dies tragically, her identical twin must struggle to survive.

HEAT METER
Welcome to My Breakdown

Welcome to My Breakdown

Benilde Little

The nationally bestselling author of Good Hair and The Itch pens her first book of nonfiction, a “momoir” about her own journey caring for aging parents, raising children, being married, plunging to the depths of depression, and climbing her way out.

HEAT METER

MORE FROM AROUND THE WEB

2 comments so far


  1. SamiNuke4

    Seeing that process is pretty cool. I do look at covers A LOT and wonder why they chose the one that they did.

  2. Very cool! Loved seeing the transformation 🙂

Post a comment